Reviews

(Click on links to read entire review)

October 18, 2009
Revisionism… or humility? an essay in Reflections on the Transition.
“The essence of this returning is the honesty and unflinching ability to – as necessary – abandon everything we understand ourselves to be, admitting any illusions and mistakes, and like the phoenix, emerge from the ashes into our real destiny.”

March 19, 2009
Lost Generation, an essay on many documentaries including WAWTG by Ora Uzel.
“What we must look for is not to put hope or faith in established structures, but to put hard work and energy into establishing our own microcosmic structures: communities. These are already happening around the nation. Communities are coming together to build self-sustainable networks that responsibly hold and nurture the survival and thrival of small groups of 25 to 400 creative, artistic, innovative, and often spiritual people. Many of them are modeled off the sustainable small group communities in Native American cultures before the late 19th century diaspora induced by European-Americans. Some even call themselves tribes.”

Spring, 2009
“Movie Documentary Review: What a Way to Go – Life at the End of Empire” by Fred Elbel, in the Volume 19, Number 3 (Spring 2009) issue of the Social Contract Journal.
Unsettling in its direct confrontation of the Culture of Empire, this documentary is highly recommended viewing for anyone who might have the ability to reshape our future”and that includes all of us. The film leaves the viewer with no quick solutions but rather the challenge to create new options.”

Sometime in 2008
Review: “What a Way to Go – Life at the End of Empire” by Lady Raven Ariana at Faeryshaman.org.
“At times watching the film feels overwhelming. It shears away our denial and brings us face to face with our personal grief and loss. A friend of mine… mourned for a long time after seeing this DVD. She is the one who suggested to me that … I purchase and watch it, then share it with others. ”

June 1, 2008

“Review of What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire, Part 1″ on The Mennonite by Tim Nafziger.
“Progress and Expansion: Stories That Undergird our Civilization” Part 2 of the review on The Mennonite by Tim Nafziger.

“One of the things What a Way to Go specifically refuses to do is give us a simple answer that we can go away with satisfied. Instead, it suggests some very general ideas like interdependence with the community of life, integrating ourselves with the earth rather than seeking to control it and building an ark of relationships around us to help us survive and imagine other ways. We need to begin to recognize the way the narrative of progress dominates so much of our life in unconscious ways if we are going to begin to heal ourselves and our world. “

April 20, 2008

“Movie Review of What a Way to Go” on GrinningPlanet.com.
“Elegant and almost poetic in tone, What a Way To Go gently takes us by the hand as it explains to us the harsh reality of how things really are, where they’re likely to go, and how difficult the challenge is”

March/April 2008

Changing the Story of Our Future by Matthew Gilbert. Mention in Tikkun.
“At this point the wisdom of our spiritual traditions and the findings of new science are converging to suggest a way out. And rather than convert the ideological loyalists of reductionist science or argue with religious fundamentalists until you’re hoarse, it may be time to just keep building a different paradigm, one that starts in the center of our own hearts and minds.”

December 9, 2007
Peak Oil at the Movies by Keith Akers. A comparison of WAWTG with “Crude Impact” and “A Crude Awakening.”
“While the first two films take a shot at examining our oil addiction, What a Way to Go takes its aim at industrial civilization itself — our lifestyle addiction, cultural addiction, and the stories and cultural blinders that accompanied our species’ rise and now threatens to destroy us and the earth along with it.”

November 5, 2007

Not Pushing the Snooze on Revolving Doors.
“… an unpolished and rugged 2-hour documentary about the mega crisis cocktail of global warming, peak oil, population overshoot and mass extinction.”

November 4, 2007

Film Review- What a Way to Go by Graham at Zone 5.

“What A Way To Go is a groundbreaking movie.”

October 17, 2007
“A New Beginning”, a Permaculture Activist Review by John Wages
“This movie lifts the veil from civilization to show us the hollowness of what we once thought hallowed.”

October 17, 2007

“What a Way to Go”, a Dry Dipstick Movie Review by Mick Winter
“A two-hour poem of great power and beauty… I have never seen a film quite like this before.”

October 17, 2007
Tim Bennett and Sally Erickson – What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire, a review by John Ludi
What a Way to Go offers both a reflective indictment of our collective folly for the uninitiated, and gives that small attentive minority who are looking at the same facts and evidence and reaching the same conclusions the reassurance that we are not crazy.”

October 13, 2007
“What a Way to Go – A review of a new doomer cult classic” posted by JMG on Grist.org
” …the best movie on the big picture (peak oil, climate change, rate of extinctions, and population overshoot) a person can make.”

October 11, 2007

“What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire, a comparison with The 11th Hour by Keith Thomas at the Nature and Society Forum
What a Way to Go is the advanced course for those who are intellectually and emotionally prepared to examine critically our way of life – the viewer takes away ideas, even subversive ones.”

September 28, 2007
What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire, a review by Phil Watson for Common Ground Magazine

September 15, 2007
What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire, a review by Thomas Naylor at the Second Vermont Republic
“A gripping documentary about the American Endgame.”

September 14, 2007
The 11th Hour and Generation Z” by Kelpie Wilson at truthout.org<
“Beautifully written and intimate.”

August 23, 2007
“What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire”, a review by Keith Thomas at the Nature and Society Forum
“Despite its uncompromising challenges to viewers, I predict it will quickly acquire “cult status” because of its power to change lives and to motivate people to change events, and that we’ll be hearing a lot about it over the coming years.”

August 18, 2007
Movie Recommendation: “What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire” by GliderGuider at DemocraticUnderground.com
“They tell the whole story, without once looking away, without even blinking… This is the whole enchilada.”

August 17, 2007
MEET THE FILMMAKERS: “WHAT A WAY TO GO: LIFE AT THE END OF EMPIRE”
Peak Moment TV interviews Sally Erickson and Tim Bennett

August 10, 2007
Film Review: What a Way to Go by Urban Scout
“Timothy Bennett feels like the newer, cooler Michael Moore.”

August 6, 2007
Peak Moment Travels (includes comments on What a Way to Go) by Janaia Donaldson @ relocalize.net
“I suggest you see it with at least one friend so you can talk about it later.”

August 2, 2007
Film Review: What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire by Rob Williams, Vermont Commons

“An eye-opening look at our civilization’s future.”

July 11, 2007
A Review by Derek J. Wilson @ Oilcrash.com
“This is the most demanding wake-up call to all and sundry I have so far seen, a very hard kick in the groin, a straight punch to the face, no mean feat for any film, and essential viewing while there may still be a little time.”

June 27, 2007
A Short Review of What a Way to Go by Kevin Moore @ Oilcrash.com
“Stunning and captivating, this is surely the film we have all been waiting for.”

June 22, 2007
What a Way to Go, a review by Jason Godesky, The Anthropik Network
“It inspired me and brought me to the brink of tears; it lionized me and made me want to go to war; it’s completely the emotional wave the introduction warned me it would be. Let it wash over you, let it embolden you, and it will give you the courage to seize the future.”

June 4, 2007
What a Way to Go (Life at the End of Empire) A Documentary Movie Review by Dan Armstrong, Mud City Press
“If what Gore offered was an ‘inconvenient truth,’ What a Way to Go gives us the ‘whole truth.’”

May 20, 2007
What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire” Documentary by Jan Lundberg, Culture Change
“Perhaps the most important media message of our time.”

April 18, 2007
This Island Earth: As Ecological Anxiety Increases, The Search for Radical Solutions Begins, by Marc Maximov, The Independent Weekly
“A bleak, relentless, ecological horror film.”

March 1, 2007
What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire, Another CarolynBaker.org Exclusive, by Carolyn Baker
“Nothing less than a 123-minute cat scan of the planet and its twenty-first century human and non-human condition.”